
Isla Saona · Photo: Holger Woizick / Unsplash
Isla Saona trip planner (2026): safety, the Bayahibe departure and speedboat vs catamaran timing
What happens on a Saona day hour by hour, how the speedboat and catamaran schedules differ, how to judge an operator's safety and weather policy, and a 2026 price table from operators' own pages with the RD$250 Cotubanamá park fee from the Ministry of Environment's SINAP system.
4 min read·Updated 2026-10-30·Every fact sourced·By the ExperiencesDR editorial team
Every Saona Island trip leaves by boat from Bayahibe, whoever sells it; a 'Saona tour from Punta Cana' is the same Bayahibe trip with a road transfer added (Quetzal). The island is inside Parque Nacional Cotubanamá, and the Ministry of Environment's SINAP system lists the park entry at RD$250 for Dominicans and foreigners alike (read 30 October 2026, SINAP).
This guide covers the practical side the price lists skip: what time you actually board, how long you spend on the water in a speedboat versus a catamaran, what to check about safety and weather, and what the day costs. Every operator figure was read on the operator's own page on 30 October 2026 and links to it.
If you want the ranked operator comparison, see Saona Island tours from Punta Cana and Bayahibe. For the park rules (starfish, coral, protected species), see Saona Island and Cotubanamá National Park: fees and rules.
Saona Island prices in 2026 (read 30 October 2026)
Published per-person prices on each operator's own page, in US dollars, plus the official park fee in Dominican pesos. Where an operator does not say whether the RD$250 park fee is included, ask before you pay; Caribbean Saona and SeavisTours state that it is. We do not convert pesos to dollars because the rate moves.
| Operator and trip | Boat | Adult | Child | Park fee | Transfer from Punta Cana/Bávaro | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caribbean Saona, Excursión Saona (all inclusive) | Party catamaran | From US$45 (varies by pickup point) | Under 5 free; 5–10 child rate | Included | Priced by pickup point | caribbeansaona.com |
| Quetzal, Saona Island by Speedboat (Wednesdays) | Speedboat | US$99 | US$50 (3–12); under 3 free | Not stated; ask | Extra fee outside Bayahibe area | quetzalexcursions.com |
| SeavisTours, Saona Crusoe VIP (small group) | Speedboat | US$105 | US$60 (2–11) | Included | US$25 per person (min. 4 in the taxi) | seavisbayahibe.com |
| Pro Excursions, Saona Prestige / natural pool | Sailing catamaran | US$149 online, US$165 regular | US$99 (under 12) | Not stated; ask | US$25 per person (min. 4) | proexcursionsbayahibe.com |
| Quetzal, Day Trip Saona Island Prestige | Catamaran, small group | US$159 | US$80 (3–12); under 3 free | Not stated; ask | Extra fee outside Bayahibe area | quetzalexcursions.com |
| Park entry, Parque Nacional Cotubanamá (official) | — | RD$250 | — | RD$250, nationals and foreigners | — | SINAP, Ministry of Environment |
Speedboat vs catamaran: how the day is timed
The boat decides how your day is split between water and sand. Quetzal's speedboat leaves Bayahibe from 8:30 am, runs along the coast past the Peñón cliff and gives about three hours of free time on the beach, for a day of roughly eight hours (Quetzal speedboat). Its catamaran boards around 8:30 to 9:00 am and sails about an hour and a half to snorkel at Catuano, then gives one to one and a half hours on the beach, with lunch served on board on the way back (Quetzal catamaran).
Caribbean Saona's all-inclusive day boards at 9:20 am, reaches the natural pool about 30 minutes later, then spends the afternoon at its beach before returning between 5:30 and 6:00 pm (Caribbean Saona). Rule of thumb from these schedules: pick a speedboat for more island time and a catamaran for a gentler ride with more time on deck. Add the road transfer to every timing if you stay in Punta Cana.
| Speedboat (Quetzal, Wednesdays) | Catamaran (Quetzal Prestige) | Party catamaran (Caribbean Saona) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boarding in Bayahibe | From 8:30 am | About 8:30–9:00 am | 9:20 am |
| First stop | Peñón cliff along the coast, then the island | Catuano snorkel, after about 1.5 h sailing | Natural pool, about 30 min out |
| Beach time | About 3 h | About 1–1.5 h | The afternoon after lunch |
| Lunch | On the beach | On board, sailing back | Buffet on the beach |
| Back in Bayahibe | Day of about 8 h | Afternoon | 5:30–6:00 pm |
| Not suited to | Back problems, pregnancy (operator's warning) | — | Anyone wanting quiet: music and open bar on deck |

Punta Cana · Photo: Leonardo Rossatti / Pexels
Leaving from Bayahibe vs a Punta Cana pickup
Staying in Bayahibe or Dominicus makes the day shortest: Pro Excursions includes transport in that area, SeavisTours meets Bayahibe guests at its visitor center and charges nothing from Dominicus, and Quetzal includes pickup for Bayahibe-area hotels (Pro Excursions, SeavisTours, Quetzal).
From Punta Cana or Bávaro, Pro Excursions and SeavisTours each add US$25 per person, based on at least four people in the taxi; SeavisTours charges US$40 from Uvero Alto, Juanillo or Cap Cana and Pro Excursions US$40 from Uvero Alto, Cap Cana or Boca Chica (SeavisTours, Pro Excursions). Quetzal puts the drive at 30 to 45 minutes from La Romana or Boca Chica and 1 h 45 min to 2 h from Santo Domingo (Quetzal). Expect a pre-dawn pickup from Punta Cana so you reach the boat for its morning departure.
Safety: what to check before you book
Weather closures are official, not just the operator's call. When the Dominican Meteorological Institute (INDOMET) reports abnormal wind and waves, the Emergency Operations Center (COE) orders small and medium boats to stay in port under Law 147-02. In March 2026 the COE ordered small and medium craft to remain in port on both coasts, and on 3 March 2026 the restricted Atlantic stretch was defined as running from Isla Saona to Cabo Francés Viejo (COE, 17 March 2026, Noticias SIN). Check the daily bulletin at INDOMET for your date; INDOMET forecasts the Parque Nacional del Este area as its own zone.
Read the bad-weather clause before paying. Quetzal reschedules or refunds in full if bad weather stops the trip and asks for a PayPal deposit; SeavisTours runs 'rain or shine as long as the conditions are safe', takes a 50% deposit and refunds free cancellations up to 24 hours before; Pro Excursions asks for a 20% deposit (Quetzal, SeavisTours, Pro Excursions).
Accidents do happen. On 27 July 2026 a tour boat returning from Saona to Bayahibe caught fire off Playa Viva with about 35 people on board; 23 were injured, mostly with burns, and there were no deaths. The Navy's preliminary hypothesis, given by the captain, was a battery spark igniting outboard fuel, and the investigation was still open at the time of reporting (Diario Libre, COE via Mdigital). In November 2024 the Navy, the Ministry of Tourism and other agencies agreed to tighten checks on the Mitur, Medio Ambiente and Navy permits every Bayahibe excursion needs (Presidencia).
Practical checks: book a company that names itself and its fleet; ask whether everyone wears a life jacket (Caribbean Saona says every passenger boards wearing one) and whether snorkel vests come in children's sizes (Quetzal provides life jackets but no gear for under-3s); and skip the speedboat if you are pregnant or have back problems, as Quetzal itself advises (Caribbean Saona, Quetzal, Quetzal speedboat).
What we left out
Prices that appear only on resale sites, crowd-sourced 'average' prices, and safety ratings for individual companies: there is no public official register of incidents by operator that we could cite. We also do not repeat the RD$500 park fee found in older blogs, because the official SINAP list shows RD$250.
Providers compared
| Listing | Location | What they offer | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caribbean Saona | Bayahibe / La Romana | Daily Isla Saona trips from Bayahíbe with own fleet: natural pool, Dominican buffet and private beach | Saona all-inclusive excursion from US$45 per adult (varies by pickup point, park tax included); party boat US$60 |
| Quetzal Catamaran Excursions | Bayahibe | Small-group Saona & Catalina catamaran trips, private charters, buggy & land tours | Saona by catamaran US$159 adult, US$80 child (3–12); Saona by speedboat US$99 adult, US$50 child |
| SeavisTours | Bayahibe | Saona Crusoe VIP, Saona Special half-day, Jungle Eco Tour (Padre Nuestro trail, cave swim, Río Chavón) | Saona Crusoe VIP US$105 adult (12+), US$60 child (2–11), park fees included; transfer from Punta Cana/Bávaro US$25 per person |
| Pro Excursions Bayahibe | Bayahibe | Saona & Las Palmillas catamaran trips, boat charters, hotel transport | Saona Prestige: US$165/adult regular (US$149 internet rate), US$99/child under 12 |
| Saona Travelers | Bayahibe | Isla Saona regular, VIP, catamaran and private speedboat tours from Bayahibe, La Romana, Punta Cana and Santo Domingo | On request |
Key facts by provider
- Caribbean Saona: Sailing to Saona since 2010 with boats Neya, Ana Victoria and Brianna
- Quetzal Catamaran Excursions: capacity: Private motor catamaran up to 60; 43-ft sailing boat up to 10; speedboat up to 6; languages: English, French, Spanish (site languages)
- SeavisTours: Family-owned since 1999; Saona Crusoe VIP by speedboat to Mano Juan, sea-turtle project, Canto de la Playa and the natural pool; languages: English, German, Spanish, Dutch
- Saona Travelers: Bayahibe-based operator; departures from Santo Domingo, Punta Cana, La Romana and Bayahibe around 6 am, back 5–6 pm; lunch, drinks and hotel pickup options
Related listings & add-ons
Sources
- https://sinap.ambiente.gob.do/
- https://quetzalexcursions.com/excursion/saona-tour-by-catamaran/
- https://quetzalexcursions.com/excursion/saona-speedboat-tour-bayahibe-punta-cana/
- https://seavisbayahibe.com/prices-booking.html
- https://www.proexcursionsbayahibe.com/en/excursion/saona-prestige-natural-pool.html
- https://caribbeansaona.com/
- https://coe.gob.do/index.php/noticias/item/975-nota-informativa-ampliacion-de-restriccion-16-3-2026
- https://coe.gob.do/index.php/noticias/item/952-nota-informativa-modificacion-de-la-restriccion
- https://noticiassin.com/coe-amplia-restriccion-para-embarcaciones-2033727/
- https://indomet.gob.do/
- https://www.diariolibre.com/actualidad/sucesos/2026/07/30/causa-del-incendio-en-embarcacion-en-isla-saona/3615345
- https://mdigitalrd.com/coe-concluye-labores-de-busqueda-y-rescate-tras-explosion-de-embarcacion-en-bayahibe-no-hubo-fallecidos/
- https://presidencia.gob.do/noticias/adoptan-medidas-para-fortalecer-el-orden-y-la-seguridad-de-las-operaciones-turisticas-en
Next step
Ready to book?
Compare operators' cited prices and book direct.
⏱ We reply within 24h. Free. No spam.